I’m Sikh and I cut my hair 2.0

download

Over a year ago, I wrote the original blog post- I’m Sikh, and I cut my hair– in which I spoke about various circumstances and views in Sikhism that I felt needed to be brought to the spotlight. The post had many supporters, and at the same time had many ‘haters’ (cue T Swift song now). A few weeks after I posted the article, an Uncle suggested I write a follow up- a great idea indeed, but it has truly taken me a long time to figure out what exactly to say.

Disclaimer: I made it very clear in the previous post that this is all my personal opinion- I’m not an expert on religion by any means, and I would like to make that clear once again. I also understand everyone is not going to see eye to eye with me, this  post is just another attempt to try to get my point across, it is not to just complain about the negative feedback.

My overall take away after reviewing the feedback is that most of the people who were against what I wrote completely missed the general point of the article, and just fixated on the importance of Sikhs keeping their hair (and marrying within Sikhism). By no means was I trying to promote that Sikhs should cut their hair and that the aspect of keeping hair should be taken out of the religion. What was the point of the article? The point was that every person has the right to choose their own level of commitment and engagement to their faith and no one has the right to denounce someone’s faith (one cannot say I’m not a Sikh because I cut my hair). There is so much more to Sikhism than just keeping hair, and unfortunately the only thing most outsiders know about Sikhism is that they wear turbans. I️t is a ritual at this point and Guru Nanak created our religion to shun rituals. Guru Nanak himself said (GGS, 355), “Through ritual actions, God cannot be won over.” We’re all so caught up in rituals and believing everything that comes by word of mouth, that many of us forget what is actually written in the Guru Granth Sahib. In present day, Sikhs are still attacked and called terrorists due to ignorance, shouldn’t it be our biggest concern to educate the world to keep our community safe?

Some more criticism that stood out to me was an individual who said the following things- thinking for ourselves (which is what I did by writing the article) is against our Gurus teachings and that we should only follow what they say- we should get rid of Manmat and replace it with Gurmat. I️ was told my thought of Sikhism’s need to progress with modern times was an excuse to not follow the hukams given by our Gurus.

Well, let me tell you what I’ve witnessed when I see devotees following ‘Gurmat’. I’ve seen people telling elders they must sit on the floor in the Darbar hall no matter what their medical condition. I’ve seen them telling others that even though it’s the dead of winter in America, socks cannot be worn in the Gurudawara. I’ve seen a lady passed out in the Darbar hall in need of CPR, but the biggest worry at the moment was that her head was not covered. I’ve seen a man with Polio unable to sit on the ground, unbelievably criticized for using a chair.

And while we’re on the topic of Gurmat- please tell me why absurd rules are being made by a small group of people on the other side of the world? The Anand Karaj (Sikh marriage ceremony) can no longer be done at hotels- a new rule which goes against the fact that the Guru Granth Sahib can be taken anywhere needed. People will argue that there is meat and there is alcohol at the hotel, well there’s meat and alcohol at many of the houses the Granth Sahib goes to for various paaths, soooo…..? How are Gurudawaras allowed to ban women from doing kirtan when women are given equality and the utmost respect in our religion?(Two wheels of a wheelbarrow ring a bell?) Gurmat is not being followed here, but that’s ok, they keep their hair so they’re allowed to do whatever they please. Sikhism is being radicalized, regressing, even though Guru Nanak started creating Sikhism as a religion of progression.

I hit a point of confusion when I read that we should rid of Manmat. Without Manmat Sikhism wouldn’t even exist. Guru Nanak Dev Ji thought for himself and didn’t agree with many aspects of Hinduism and set off on a journey which lead to the birth of Sikhism. The world progresses as we learn more and migrate, as we improve philosophy to better ourselves as individuals and as a community. If we didn’t think for ourselves, I wouldn’t be able to live in a country where I can walk as an equal next to a man (this may not be a religious example but I hope you get the point). As Sikhs, we are eternal students. A student that doesn’t use critical thinking to improve on knowledge that exists is not a true student, they are just a blind follower. The need for Sikhism to progress is not an excuse for anything, it is a way for all of us to better ourselves as a community, and show to the world that we are leaders in humanity.

My supporters had many great thoughts to add to my own! Many of which I have incorporated in my own thoughts above. They all grasped the moral of my story- internal values, being a good human being, and positively contributing to society are the key aspects to religion in general. Getting caught up in the external rituals is what leads to conflict and unrest.

I’ve  witnessed a lot of changes at my home Gurudawara over the past year that are truly amazing. They’ve started bringing in physicians to give lectures on different health issues to the sangat. They have started to promote other healthcare wellness activities including open clinics and bone marrow and blood drives. The Gurudawara holds sessions for students to learn the ins and outs of the process to apply for college. And the list could go on. I’m sure many other Gurudawaras have been doing the same and nothing makes me happier! This is progression, and this is how we take the first steps to bettering our community.

We live in a time that Sikhs are attacked and called terrorists because of the ignorance of others. All I see are people in our community (in all countries) fighting each other over nonsense instead of uniting and showing the world how beautiful our religion is. To see a change, you have to make a change- adapting to society just a little but could be the most helpful thing in keeping our religion alive.

There’s plenty more to be said, but no one likes to read 5 page articles. Until next time, Chak de Phattey!

Leave a comment